Page 79 - 2020_NHMS_Souvenir_program
P. 79


                                                                                             —Bobby Santos III


            Coming	off	turn	four,	heading	for	the	Granite	Stripe,	  “Loudon is so special for the Modifieds; this is our Super
            looking	to	edge	out	for	the	checkered	flag.          Bowl,” Bobby Santos III, a five-time winner at NHMS,
                                                                 who has won four of the last six Whelen Modified Tour
            When you think of what the Daytona 500 means to      races at “The Magic Mile,” said after winning the Musket
            NASCAR Cup Series drivers, as one of the most well-  250 last fall.
            known stock car races each year, you realize how
            important that one day in February can be to history. In   NHMS brings out the best of the Modified community
            one blink of an eye, a driver’s career can change forever   with more than 30 cars taking the green on most
            by placing their name on the Harley J. Earl trophy as a   occasions and some of the top talent in the history
            winner of NASCAR’s most marquee event.               of the division competing for glory. They know how
                                                                 important winning a race at New Hampshire can be for
            NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour races at New Hampshire   their career. Most of the best names have won, including
            Motor Speedway hold the same meaning and showcase    the newest inductee to the NASCAR Hall of Fame Class
            the same intensity for a different group of drivers. The   of 2021, the late Mike Stefanik. The Connecticut native
            Whelen Modified Tour includes a veteran core and a   won eight times in 53 Modified starts at the 1.058-mile
            group of rising NASCAR stars who compete throughout   oval, which helped propel him to a record seven Whelen
            New England each year. When they buckle their belts   Modified Tour titles. Stefanik also won twice at NHMS in
            on the grid, they know they are in for a drafting session   the NASCAR Busch North Series.
            where one wrong move could mean the end of their
            season, but one right pass could earn them glory on the   As part of 71 races entering 2020, top names like Ted
            biggest stage in front of the top eyes in the sport.  Christopher, Tony Hirschman, Reggie Ruggerio, Steve
                                                                 Park and Mike McLaughlin, who won the inaugural stop
            In the Granite State, NHMS and Modifieds match well.   at the New Hampshire oval in 1990, have won. Ryan
            They are both full of prestige and energy, and drivers   Newman, a former NASCAR Cup Series winner, is also
            pull their belts a bit tighter rolling from the garage,   a three-time Modified winner at NHMS, twice for points
            knowing the speed they are about to feel and the moves   and once in a non-points shootout. Add Doug Coby, a
            they are about to execute. As NHMS celebrates its 30    six-time Whelen Modified Tour champion who continues
            anniversary in 2020, the Whelen Modified Tour, NASCAR   to break the record books, and you have a stout list of
            Xfinity Series and ARCA Menards Series East (formerly   winners; and they aren’t the only ones.
            NASCAR Busch North Series) remain the only NASCAR
            divisions that have been a part since day one. NASCAR
            Cup Series races at NHMS didn’t start until 1993.

   74   75   76   77   78   79   80   81   82   83   84