Following are from the SAE International Formula Hybrid(TM) competition held at New Hampshire Motor Speedway in Loudon, NH:

    --  Hybrid Class
        o 1st - Brigham Young University*
        o 1st - Universite de Sherbrooke*
        o 3rd - Universitat Politecnica de Catalunya

*Because the scores of the first two finishers in the Hybrid category were within 0.2% of one another, the organizers have decided to award two first place trophies for 2012.

    --  Battery Electric Class
        o 1st - University of Kansas, Lawrence
        o 2nd - Illinois Institute of Technology
        o 3rd - Drexel University

For more information on the event, or for a list of full results, visit

Formula Hybrid(TM) is a design and engineering challenge for undergraduate and graduate college and university students. They must design, build, and compete an open-wheel, single-seat autocross vehicle. This vehicle must conform to a formula which emphasizes drive train innovation and fuel efficiency in a high-performance application. Formula Hybrid(TM) builds on the Formula SAE program and takes it to the next level. It adds a new layer of complexity and provides an additional technical challenge to student teams.

Formula Hybrid(TM) is part of SAE International's Collegiate Design Series(TM). Other competitions in the series include Baja SAE(R), Aero Design(R), Clean Snowmobile Challenge, Formula SAE(R) and Supermileage(R).

SAE International's Collegiate Design Series(TM) and AWIM curriculum won the National Science Foundation's prestigious 2008 Public Service Award.

SAE International is a global association of more than 133,000 engineers and related technical experts in the aerospace, automotive and commercial-vehicle industries. SAE International's core competencies are life-long learning and voluntary consensus standards development. SAE International's charitable arm is the SAE Foundation, which supports many programs, including A World In Motion(R) and the Collegiate Design Series.