Indianapolis 500 champions Helio Castroneves and Dario Franchitti plus 2005 Rookie of the Year Danica Patrick will “flip the switch” to turn the tower of the Empire State Building in the heart of Manhattan green in honor of the 100th anniversary Indianapolis 500.

The May 23 event is part of the media blitz for all Indy 500 competitors in 13 North American cities.

Pole sitter Alex Tagliani, James Hinchcliffe and Paul Tracy will celebrate Victoria Day with fellow Canadians in Toronto.

“We have a Canadian on the pole, another one on Row 5 and Paul in the show so I think it’s a good start and I hope we can get the Canadian fans excited about next Sunday,” said Hinchcliffe, a native of suburban Toronto who qualified as the second-quickest rookie in 13th in the No. 06 Sprott Newman/Haas Racing entry.

“We had a great day, and the whole team did with Oriol (Servia) getting on the front row and me solidly in the show. Our plan was to go out once and sit the rest of the day, and we were fortunate we were able to do that.”

Joseph Bellina, general manager of the Empire State Building, will greet the trio of competitors and invite them to flip the switch. They’ll then join the Borg-Warner Trophy on the 86th floor observation area for photographs.

Visits to CNN American Morning, ABC News Now, Wake Up with Al on The Weather Channel, Sirius/XM, Sports Illustrated, WFAN, Fox Business, ESPN The Magazine, FOX Sports and a media roundtable at  the Palm West also are part of the itinerary.

On May 24, the front row of Tagliani, Servia and Scott Dixon will visit many of the properties at ESPN in Bristol, Conn.

The cities with drivers attending:

Boston: Simona de Silvestro, Will Power, Justin Wilson
Chicago: Ryan Briscoe, Graham Rahal
Cincinnati: Scott Dixon, Takuma Sato, Tomas Scheckter, Pippa Mann
Dallas: Marco Andretti
Dayton, Ohio: Alex Lloyd, Bertrand Baguette, Jay Howard
Las Vegas: Townsend Bell
Louisville: John Andretti, Davey Hamilton, JR Hildebrand
Miami: Ana Beatriz, Tony Kanaan, E.J. Viso, Oriol Servia
Milwaukee: Charlie Kimball, Bruno Junqueira, Vitor Meira, Buddy Rice
Nashville: Ed Carpenter, (team owner) Sarah Fisher
New York: Helio Castroneves, Danica Patrick, Dario Franchitti
Tampa: Dan Wheldon
Toronto: Alex Tagliani, James Hinchcliffe, Paul Tracy