The AAA 400 at Dover International Speedway marked the third race of the 2014 Chase for the NASCAR Sprint Cup and the final race of the Challenger Round of the Chase. With four drivers eliminated, the Chase field now stands at 12 drivers entering the Contender Round.

The four drivers eliminated from the Chase after Dover are: AJ Allmendinger , Kurt Busch, Greg Biffle and Aric Almirola.

The 12 drivers advancing to the Contender Round are: Brad Keselowski (Won at Chicagoland), Joey Logano (Won at New Hampshire), Kevin Harvick,
Jimmie Johnson, Jeff Gordon (Won at Dover), Kyle Busch, Dale Earnhardt Jr, Matt Kenseth, Ryan Newman, Carl Edwards, Denny Hamlin and Kasey Kahne.

For the 12 drivers advancing to the Contender Round, their point totals will be reset to 3,000. For the four drivers that are eliminated from the Chase field, they will see their point totals reset to the Chase-start base of 2,000 plus any bonus points for regular-season wins and the additional points they have earned in the Chase.

The Contender Round consists of three races: Kansas Speedway, Charlotte Motor Speedway and Talladega Superspeedway. A Chase driver who wins one of those three races will automatically advance to the Eliminator Round. The rest of the eight-driver field to make the Eliminator Round will be determined by the points scored in the three Contender Round races.