The National Association for Stock Car Auto Racing (NASCAR) will gather at the NASCAR Hall of Fame in Charlotte, N.C. today  to announce its second hall of fame class.

The announcement, which will be carried live on SPEED, NASCAR.COM and SIRIUS Satellite Radio Channel 128 at 4 p.m. ET, will be made by NASCAR Chairman and CEO Brian France.

The nominees, which include many of the sport’s most legendary names, were selected by a 21-person nominating committee consisting of representatives from NASCAR, the NASCAR Hall of Fame and track owners from both major facilities and several historic short tracks.

The NASCAR Hall of Fame’s second class will be determined by the Voting Panel, which is comprised of members of the Nominating Committee and 31 others representing NASCAR, the NASCAR Hall of Fame, major race track ownership groups, retired drivers, owners and crew chiefs along with motorsports media representatives. In addition, the fan vote will result in the Voting Panel’s 53rd and final ballot.

The Voting Panel is comprised of the following:  Rick Allen; Dusty Brandel; Paul Brooks; Kenny Bruce; Clay Campbell; Jim Campbell; Ken Clapp; Ed Clark; Jerry Cook; Jim and Barbara Cromarty (1 vote); Duane Cross; Jody Deery; Barry Dodson; Chris Economaki; Brian France; Jim France; Edsel B. Ford III; Harry Gant; Tony George; Barney Hall; Mike Harris; Mike Helton; Tom Higgins; Jim Hunter;  Ned Jarrett; Junior Johnson; Mike Joy; Winston Kelley; Lesa Kennedy; Dustin Long; Doc Mattioli; Denis McGlynn; Buz McKim; Bud Moore; Cotton Owens; Buddy Parrott; Jim Pedley; Robin Pemberton; Kyle Petty; Richard Petty; Dale Pinilis; Jerry Punch; Doug Rice; Ricky Rudd; Nate Ryan; Ernie Saxton; Bruton Smith; Ken Squier; Humpy Wheeler; Lee White; Jim Williams, and Waddell Wilson.

The second class of the NASCAR Hall of Fame will be inducted during a ceremony to be held in May, 2011.

Following are the 25 individuals who have been nominated:

  •  Bobby Allison, 1983 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series champion and winner of 84 races
  •  Buck Baker, first driver to win consecutive NASCAR Sprint Cup championships
  •  Red Byron, first NASCAR Sprint Cup champion, in 1949
  •  Richard Childress, 11-time car owner champion in NASCAR’s three national series
  •  Jerry Cook, six-time NASCAR Modified Series champion; won four consecutive titles
  •  Richie Evans, nine-time NASCAR Modified champion
  •  Tim Flock, two-time NASCAR Sprint Cup champion
  •  Rick Hendrick, holder of a record 12 car owner championships in NASCAR’s three national series
  •  Jack Ingram, three Late Model Sportsman Series and two NASCAR Nationwide Series titles
  •  Dale Inman, set crew chief records for most wins (193) and championships (eight)
  •  Ned Jarrett, two-time NASCAR Sprint Cup champion
  •  Fred Lorenzen, 26 career victories including the 1965 Daytona 500
  •  Bud Moore, 63 wins and two NASCAR Sprint Cup titles as a car owner
  •  Raymond Parks, NASCAR’s first champion car owner
  •  Benny Parsons, 1973 NASCAR Sprint Cup champion
  •  David Pearson, 105 victories and three NASCAR Sprint Cup championships
  •  Lee Petty, winner of first Daytona 500 and first three-time series champion
  •  Fireball Roberts, won 33 NASCAR Sprint Cup races, including the 1962 Daytona 500
  •  T. Wayne Robertson, renowned R.J. Reynolds executive
  •  Herb Thomas, first two-time NASCAR Sprint Cup champion, 1951 and ‘53
  •  Curtis Turner, early personality, called the “Babe Ruth of stock car racing”
  •  Darrell Waltrip, winner of 84 races and three NASCAR Sprint Cup championships
  •  Joe Weatherly, two-time NASCAR Sprint Cup champion
  •  Glen Wood, as driver, laid foundation for Wood Brothers’ future team success
  •  Cale Yarborough, winner of three consecutive NASCAR Sprint Cup titles, 1976-78