K&N PRO SERIES: Brett Moffitt Takes Iowa Speedway Victory

Sunday, May 22, 2011
Brett Moffitt won the Pork 'Be Inspired' 175 at Iowa Speedway. Photo: Getty Images/NASCAR

NEWTON, Iowa (NASCAR) -- Brett Moffitt dominated the Pork 'Be Inspired' 175 presented by Tompkins Industries at Iowa Speedway Saturday, giving the native of nearby Grimes, Iowa, a popular NASCAR K&N Pro Series victory.

Moffitt led a race-high 138 laps and coasted to a nearly four-second win over defending race winner Max Gresham.

The win comes a year after Moffitt led 54 laps at Iowa but wrecked after contact while leading in the race's closing laps. It was the second win of the season and sixth of his career for the Michael Waltrip Racing development driver.


Eddie MacDonald rounded out the top three. Greg Pursley was fourth overall and was credited with a NASCAR K&N Pro Series West win as the highest series finisher. It is Pursley's third win of the season and fifth in the last seven series races dating back to last year.

David Mayhew finished fifth. Ryan Gifford was sixth, followed by Brett Thompson, Coleman Pressley, Darrell Wallace Jr. and Dylan Kwasniewski.

The race at Iowa was the fifth annual meeting between the NASCAR K&N Pro Series East and West at the .875-mile track 30 minutes east of Des Moines, Iowa. The race has become a showcase for the rising young talent in NASCAR. Joey Logano won the first race in 2007 as a 16-year-old and Gresham was 17 when he won last year.

Kwasniewski and Chase Elliott, who was 11th, won the Sunoco Rookie of the Race Award for the West and East, respectively. Both drivers are 15.

Earlier Saturday, 19-year-old Matt DiBenedetto won the pole award and led 24 of the first 25. He had just retaken the lead from Moffitt on Lap 85 when he cut a tire to bring out the caution. He wound up 20th overall.

With the win, Moffitt unofficially edged ahead of Wallace in the season standings by one point, 646-645.